The Year in Review | Revue de l’année

Version française ci-dessous

Image for post
Image for post
The Adei Elevate pilot program, an intensive technical skills training

July 2018: We organized a startup competition that qualified two Ivorian startups for the 7th Edition of Demo Africa, an international innovation-­focused pitch competition, held in Morocco in October 2018. AgriTech startup WeFly Agri won an award from the French Development Agency (FDA) and a full scholarship to Emerging Valley Social & Inclusive Business Camp. Both startups received international exposure and significant international press coverage. HealthTech startup Pass Santé Mousso received interest from France24, investors, and opportunities to expand regionally beyond Cote d’Ivoire.

Image for post
Image for post
Six out of eight developers graduated from the Adei Elevate pilot program

November 2018: Our pilot program was a success. Our team successfully conducted the 6-week advanced technical training program for developers, Elevate Beyond Coding, as well as the entrepreneurship program, Elevate Your Pitch, in partnership with Seedstars and The Vault. At the end of the program, four graduates of our Entrepreneurship Skills pilot program pitched to venture capitalists. Two of the startups were pursued for potential investment deals, one of which landed a partnership contract with a major telecom company.

March 2019: Adei Foundation was granted 501(c)3 status!

June 2019: We started fundraising and to date we’ve raised nearly 25K (committed) through a US Embassy grant, Google Donation for Doers and Africa Day fundraising campaigns! We were selected by the US Embassy amongst over 100 projects in Côte d’Ivoire.

June 2019: We received a donation of 15 new HP desktop computers from ANSUT, an Ivorian government agency.

July 2019: We kicked-off our soft launch with the Adei Elevate program for startups.

July 2019: We signed a partnership with the Ministry of Digital Economy and Post.

Our team is growing! This year, we’ve formed a Board of Directors for our Côte d’Ivoire subsidiary and hired a Program Coordinator, Executive Administrative Assistant and Grant Writer. We’ve also worked with over 20 pro bono professionals for Program Development, External Affairs, Research and Evaluation, Marketing and Finance.

Image for post
Image for post
Les gagnants de notre concours pour startups ivoiriennes et participants de la 7ème édition de Demo Africa

Juillet 2018: Nous avons organisé un concours de startups qui qualifiait deux startups ivoiriennes pour la 7ème édition de Demo Africa, une compétition internationale de pitch axé sur l’innovation, qui s’est tenu au Maroc en octobre 2018. La startup en AgriTech, WeFly Agri, a remporté un prix de Agence Française de Développement (AFD) et une bourse complète Emerging Valley Social & Inclusive Business Camp. Les deux startups ont bénéficié d’une visibilité internationale et d’une importante couverture de la presse internationale. La start-up en HealthTech, Pass Santé Mousso, a suscité l’intérêt de France24 et des investisseurs, ainsi que des opportunités de développement régional hors de la Côte d’Ivoire.

Image for post
Image for post
La formation Adei Elevate pour développeurs

Novembre 2018: Notre programme pilote a été un succès. Notre équipe a bien dirigé le programme de formation technique avancée de six semaines destiné aux développeurs, Elevate Beyond Coding, ainsi que le programme d’entrepreneuriat, Elevate Your Pitch, en partenariat avec Seedstars et The Vault. À la fin du programme, quatre diplômés de notre programme pilote de compétences en entrepreneuriat ont présentés leurs pitch à des investisseurs en capital risque. Deux des start-up ont été recherchées pour des contrats d’investissement potentiels, dont l’un a remporté un contrat de partenariat avec une grande entreprise de télécommunications.

Mars 2019: La Fondation Adei obtient le statut 501(c)3!

Juin 2019: Nous commençons des collectes des fonds. À ce jour, nous avons collecté près de 25,000$ (engagé) à travers une subvention de l’ambassade américaine, de Google Donation for Doers et une campagne de collecte de fonds pour la Journée de l’Afrique! Nous avons été sélectionnés par l’ambassade américaine parmi plus de 100 projets en Côte d’Ivoire.

Juin 2019: Nous avons reçu un don de 15 nouveaux ordinateurs HP de la part de ANSUT, une agence du gouvernement ivoirien.

Juillet 2019: Nous organisons le pré-lancement du programme Adei Elevate pour startups technologiques.

Juillet 2019: Nous signons un partenariat avec le Ministère de l’Économie numérique et de la Poste.

Notre équipe s’agrandit! Cette année, nous avons formé un conseil d’administration pour notre filiale en Côte d’Ivoire et engagé un coordonnateur de programme, une assistante exécutive administrative et une rédactrice de subventions. Nous avons également travaillé avec plus de 20 professionnels pro bono pour le développement de programmes, les affaires extérieures, la recherche et l’évaluation, le marketing et les finances.

Image for post
Image for post
Le conseil d’administration à la première assemblée générale de la Fondation Adei Côte d’Ivoire

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store